Coastal Bend Labor Council - Labor 2018 Endorsements


The Coastal Bend Labor Council is proud to endorse statewide and local candidates who reflect the values and priorities of working people in Texas. The Coastal Bend Labor Council evaluated candidates on their commitment to improve the lives of working families.

The screening/evaluation committee voted to endorse the following:   

Statewide TeXAS AFL-CIO COPE endorsements:

  U.S. Senator – Beto O'Rourke

  Governor – Lupe Valdez

  Lieutenant Governor – Mike Collier

  Attorney General – Justin Nelson

  Comptroller – No action

  Land Commissioner – Tex Morgan

  Agriculture Commissioner – Kim Olson

  Railroad Commissioner – Chris Spellmon

  Texas Supreme Court, Place 2 – Steve Kirkland

  Texas Supreme Court, Place 4 – R.K. Sandill

  Texas Supreme Court, Place 6 – Kathy Cheng

  Texas Court of Criminal Appeals, Presiding Judge – Maria T. “Terri” Jackson

  Texas Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 7 – Ramona Franklin

  Texas Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 8 – No action

  Texas Democratic Party Chair – Gilberto Hinojosa    

Local Area: 

Member, State Board of Education, District 2 – Ruben Cortez. 

State Representative, District 32 – Todd Hunter

State Representative, District 34 – Abel Herrero

Chief Justice, 13th Court of Appeals – Dori Contreras

Justice, 13th Court of Appeals District, Place 2 – Nora Longoria

Justice, 13th Court of Appeals, Place 5 – Gina Benavides

District Judge, 94th Judicial District – Bobby Galvan

District Judge, 117th Judicial District – Sandra Watts

County Judge – Barbara Canales

Judge, County Court-at-Law No. 1 – Robert Vargas

Judge, County Court-at-Law No. 2 – Lisa Gonzales

Judge, County Court-at-Law No. 3 – Deeanne Svoboda Galvan

County Clerk – Diana Barrera

County Commissioner Pct. 1 – Robert G. Hernandez

County Commissioner Pct. 2 – Joe A. Gonzalez (JAG)

Justice of the Peace Pct. 1, Place 3 – Randy Balderas

Nueces County Democratic Chair – Lander Baiamonte